2019 Calendar

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

Technical Brilliance

TuesdayAugust 208:00 PM



Mozart: Quartet in F major for Strings, K. 590, “Prussian”

Saint-Saëns: Sonata No. 1 in D minor for Violin and Piano, Op. 75

Dvořák: Sextet in A major for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Two Cellos, Op. 48

Wu Han, Piano; Paul Huang, Violin; Paul Neubauer, Viola; David Finckel, Cello; Escher String Quartet: Adam Barnett-Hart, Violin; Brendan Speltz, Violin; Pierre Lapointe, Viola; Brook Speltz, Cello.

Mozart: Quartet for Strings in F major, K. 590, “Prussian”


Dvořák:Sextet for Two Violins, Two Violas, and Two Cellos in A major, Op. 48 – Tuesday, August 20

Program Notes

The word “brilliant” can only begin to describe a program of three incomparable craftsmen and the performers who bring their works to life on stage. Mozart introduces an evening of astounding technique with his “Prussian” string quartet, a showcase for the cello; Saint-Saëns’s Sonata adds fireworks for the violin, and closing out this program and CMS’s 2019 residency at SPAC is Dvořák’s glowing String Sextet, a truly gratifying way to end a season.

Fun Facts!

  • Mozart’s quartet is one of three that he wrote in 1789-90 for the King of Prussia. The king was an avid cellist and the cello has a prominent part in this quartet.
  • Saint-Saëns’s brilliant violin sonata was written during a renaissance in French chamber music that followed the Franco-Prussian War of 1870.
  • The middle two movements of Dvořák’s sextet are based on traditional Slavonic dances. This was Dvořák’s way of integrating his Czech heritage with the German music tradition of the time.
Buy TicketsGroup Sales