Beethoven’s Complete Symphonic Cycle
with Yannick Nézet-Séguin

AUGUST 12-15

About the program:

In 2020, the world will celebrate the 250th anniversary of Beethoven and his genius. Experience all nine powerful symphonies by The Philadelphia Orchestra under the baton of Music Director Yannick Nézet-Séguin in an unprecedented four-night event at SPAC.

Thrilling and deeply moving bodies of work — from the delightful and high-spirited First Symphony to the glorious, climactic Ninth — Beethoven’s symphonies are often compared with the building of cathedrals or the winning of wars as a defining accomplishment in human history.

Beethoven 2020 will feature music by composers of today in dialogue with Beethoven’s symphonies. Composer-in-Residence Gabriela Lena Frank, and a diverse group of composers from her Creative Academy of Music, offer newly written works that inspire and push boundaries—to elevate the context in which Beethoven’s legacy is understood today.

Only at SPAC can you journey through Beethoven’s life with the complete symphonic cycle in four consecutive evenings. Buy the Beethoven 2020 Pass now and save 15% off with no additional fees!

Performer information:

Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor

Member information:

Are you a SPAC member? Buy the Beethoven 2020 Pass now and save 25% off with no additional fees!

You will automatically receive 15% off when adding tickets to your shopping cart; no coupon codes required. SPAC members will receive 25% off after logging into their online account. Individual performance tickets will be available at a later date.

Purchase the Beethoven 2020 Pass